Naija Gossip 247

#OsunRerun Live Update

The September 22 gubernatorial election in Osun state was declared inconclusive by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as a result of the slim margin between the votes polled between Senator Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Gboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Joseph Afuwape, the returning officer, said the margin between the candidate of the and the candidate of the APC was not significant enough to declare a winner.

The candidate polled 254,698 votes while the APC flagbearer had 254,345, leaving a gap of 353 votes.

INEC’s election guideline made pursuant to Section 153 of the Electoral Act stipulates a rerun if the margin of victory in an election is lower than the number of voters in units where elections are cancelled.

Since the total number of cancelled votes (3,486) exceeds the difference between the two leading parties (353), Afuwape said it was impossible for him to declare any party as the winner.

Consequently, INEC announced that a rerun election would be conducted today, Thursday, September 27, specifically at the polling units where votes were cancelled, to enable the people of Osun state finally decide who will succeed Governor Rauf Aregbesola.

The supplementary contest is a straight battle between Adeleke and Oyetola. However, other parties will be allowed to participate. It will be taking place at seven polling units spanning through four local government areas, namely Ife North (one polling unit), Ife South (two polling unit), Osogbo (one polling unit) and Orolu (three polling unit).

The total number of voters in the units where the elections were cancelled is 3,498.

Breakdown of the areas where the rereun will be conducted

  1. Ife North – Ward 10, PU2
  2. Ife South – Olode Ward 07, PU12, Adereti Village
  3. Ife South – Osi Ward 8 PU10, Aluti Erin Primary School, Albert village
  4. Orolu – Ward 08 PU001, Kajola village
  5. Orolu – Ward 08 PU004 Idi Iya village
  6. Orolu – Ward 09 PU 003 Gbogbo Primary School Adeleke
  7. Osogbo – Ataoja Ward 05 PU 017 Adewale Street

As the people of Osun state, particularly the polling units affected, troop out to finally decide who become their next governor between Adeleke and Oyetola, is fully on ground to give you bit by bit insightful live updates from the polling units and the collation centre.

Don’t forget to refresh your browser always for fresh updates.


12:20PM: Some residents of Ifon who said that they were registered voters at Gbogbo Primary School and in Kajola Village have alleged that they were turned back from assessing their polling units by alleged APC thugs.
One of them who identified herself as Ramota Ibrahim, said they were chased away from the polling unit at Kajola.

11:52AM: Three members of the Nigerian Bar Association Observer group have been arrested by some policemen at Ifon on their way to monitor the rerun election in some of the units in Orolu Local Government Area.

10:59AM: Money-sharing brazenly done in Olode village. The polling unit is just by the road. After voting, they go into one of the mud buildings close to the polling unit or under a tree to collect money.

10:48AM: In Olode, security men blocked vehicles from going through the village until around 10.30am. It resulted in a long queue with some commuters alighting from their vehicles to trek to the other side of the road where they boarded other vehicles to continue with their journey.

10:30 AM: INEC says it is disturbed about reports that accredited media and observers are being arrested or prevented from operating in some polling units. This is being taken up with the security agencies, the electoral umpire assures.

10:00 AM: Voters have now returned to their queues as they rains have subsided and voting has commenced in the affected poling units.

9:10 AM: Rainfall forces voters to run away from the queue and seek shelter in nearby buildings.

8:50 AM: Election observers arrive and speak on what they have observed so far in the Osun governorship re-run.

8:40 AM: Voting process has began at Olode Ward 7, PU 12, in Ife South LGA. There is presence of heavily armed security operatives. The security personnel comprise men of the Nigerian Police Force, FRSC, NSCDC, DSS.

8:21am Oshogbo LGA: Voting has commenced as aged people are reportedly given preference at PU 17, ward 5.

Voters standing in long cue at polling unit 17, Ward 5 in Oshogbo. Credit: Premium Times

8.20am: The Resident Electoral Commissioner in Osun state, Olusegun Agbaje visited Ward 5 Unit 17, Alekuwodo Osogbo.

8am [Ward 5 Unit 17, Alekuwodo in Osogbo]: There is reportedly heavy presence of security operatives as voters are already on the queue waiting for voting to commence. INEC officials are also on ground.

The security operatives are stationed at the entrance of the street and at every adjoining street to prevent disruption of the exercise.

7:15am [Orolu LGA]: There is apprehension in Ifon, Orolu LGA as residents gather in tens and hundreds discussing, a report by Premium Times states.

It was alleged that about twelve vehicles carrying thugs working for one of the parties drove ahead.

Observers, residents and other interested parties are waiting for security reinforcement to proceed to polling units.

Suggested Read:  Video: My Biggest Regret Is Giving My Ex My School Fees – Nigerian Lady
Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button