Naija Gossip 247

Countries In 2022 Already: Which country celebrates New Year last ? (Fact check)

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

As we are bidding adieu to 2021, the countdown for 2022 will begin just before midnight around the world. But not everyone welcomes New Year at the same time.

Which country celebrates New Year first?

Oceania is the first place in the world that welcomes the New Year. The small Pacific island nations of Tonga, Samoa and Kiribati are the first countries to welcome New Year. January 1 begins here at 10 am GMT or 3:30 pm IST on December 31.

Advertisements

Which country celebrates New Year last?

The uninhabited islands of Howland and Baker Islands, near the United States, will be the last places to welcome New Year 2022. They ring in the New Year at 12 pm GMT or 5:30 pm IST on January 1.

Share with friends and colleagues!
Alamu Tosin

The writer is Alamu Tosin. I have three strong passions in life — football, blogging and movies — in that order. I love spending time with friends talking about the important things in life and hate nothing more than ‘authority’ and hypocrisy. My personal believe in life is that once an individual sets his/her mind to achieve something, it is totally possible. And oh!, I am a strong Lannister, because I always pay my debt. For writing or fixing gigs, contact tosinalamu@gmail.com.

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It