Politics News Today

Osun APC Primary Election Results 2022: How Oyetola floors Aregbesola’s ‘chosen one’

Governor Gboyega Oyetola of Osun has been declared the winner of the All Progressives Congress governorship primary election in the state.

Osun Primary Election Results 2022

Mr Oyetola, who is seeking re-election, pulled 222,169 votes to defeat his closet rival, Moshood Adeoti, the anointed candidate of the Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola, who scored 12,921.

The governor won in all of Osun’s 30 local government areas in the direct primary election on Saturday.

He also defeated Lasun Yusuf, a former Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives, who scored 460 votes.

Mr AbdulRazak said the total registered voters for the exercise was 408,697.

The chairman added that the total numbers of accredited voters was 247,207, while the total votes cast was 235,550.

He said: “I, AbdulRaham AbdulRazak, the Chairman, Primary Election Committee, hereby certified that Adegboyega Isiaka Oyetola, having scored the highest votes cast in Osun governorship primary election held on Feb.19 and met all requirements as contained in the guildlines of the election is hereby declared the winner.”

In his remarks, the chairman of in Osun, Gboyega Famodun, commended the committee for a job well done.

Mr Famodun said the peaceful outcome of the primary had put an end to tension in the state, adding that the APC would work on securing victory for governor Oyetola, who is now the party’s candidate for July 16 governorship election in the state.


Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button