NJC reveals names of 21 new Judges, as CCT gets full panel

The National Judicial Council, NJC, on Friday, disclosed names of 21 successful candidates it recommended for elevation as Federal and State High Court Judges.

The legal body which has the Chief Justice of Nigeria, CJN, Justice Walter Onnoghen as its Chairman, said it had at the end of its 86th meeting that held on May 8 and 9, equally okayed the appointment of a President for the Customary Court of Appeal in the Federal Capital Territory.

As well as a new member to give full compliment to the Code of Conduct Tribunal, CCT, which had over the years, operated as a two-man panel tribunal.

In a statement signed by its Director of Information, Mr. Soji Oye, the NJC, listed those that benefited from the new appointments as, Hon. Mr. Justice Elizabeth A. Karatu as Chief Judge, Kebbi State, Hon. Mr. Justice Musa Danladi Abubakar, Chief Judge Katsina State, and Hon. Kadi Alhafiz Mikail Abubakar as Grand Kadi, Katsina State.

While Hon. Mr. Justice Abbazih Musa Abubakar Saddeeq was appointed as President of FCT Customary Court of Appeal, Bilikisu Gambo Yusuf and Ishaku Usman were elevated as Judges of the Niger State High Court.

Others are Musa Mustapha, Baba Gani Karumi and Waziri Alhaji Abubakar as Judges of the High Court, Borno State, Husaini Alhasan Saidu, Zubayr Saliu and Ruth Alolo Alfa were appointed Judges of the High Court in Kogi State.

The NJC equally okayed the appointment of Muhammad Haruna and Fatima Musa asked Gombe High Court Judges, Muhammad Inuwa Gombe and Hadi Aminu, as Kadis Sharia Court, Gombe State, while Ahmad Muhammad Gidado, Mustapha Lalloki, Dalha Bashir Ahmad and Atiku Muhammad Bello, were appointed as Kadis Sharia Court of Appeal, Gombe State.

The council said it recommended the appointment of Mrs. Julie Abieyuwa Anabor as a member of the CCT.

According to the statement, “The newly appointed candidates will be sworn-in after the approval of the President and their respective State Governors as the case may be”.

Show More
Back to top button