Naija Politics Gist

More Trouble For PDP As Imo Speaker, Seven Lawmakers Defects To APC

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly, Collins Chiji has dumped the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

Mr Collins Chiji defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), alongside Seven other lawmakers, during a plenary on Tuesday, January 28, 2020.

This is coming barely 24 hours after Imo chairman, Charles Ezekwem resigned from the party and joined the ruling party, APC .


Apart from the speaker, others who announced their defection on Tuesday are Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru), Dominic Ezerioha (Oru West) Chigozie Nwaneri(Oru East), Kanayo Onyemaechi (Owerri West), Kennedy Ibe (Obowo) Onyemaechi Njoku (Ihitte/Uboma), and Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise).

With the defections, APC now has 18 lawmakers with having eight in the Imo State House of Assembly.

The latest detections comes barely two weeks after the supreme court sacked Emeka Ihedioha of the PDP as governor of the state and affirmed Hope Uzodinma, candidate of the APC, as winner of the 2019 governorship election.

Share with friends and colleagues!
Naijaparry Editor, an Entertainment, Gist, Relationship, Inspiration and Education based website founded in August 2015, poised at giving out accurate information as well as assisting both graduates and undergraduates with career advice towards achieving their set goals.

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It