Naija Politics Gist

Full List: Buhari New Ministers

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Buhari New Ministers: President has asked the senate to confirm seven nominees for appointment as ministers.

Buhari’s request was contained in two letters read by Senate President Ahmad Lawan on the floor of the upper legislative chamber on Tuesday.

The new nominees are:

  • Henry Ikechukwu (Abia)
  • Umana Okon Umana (Akwa Ibom)
  • Ekuma Joseph (Ebonyi)
  • Goodluck Nana Obia (Imo)
  • Umar Ibrahim Yakub (Kano)
  • Ademola Adewole Adegorioye (Ondo)
  • Odo Udi (Rivers)

Rotimi Amaechi, Ogbonnaya Onu, Godswill Akpabio and Emeka Nwajiuba who all resigned to pursue presidential bids will not return, contrary to initial speculation.

Bola Tinubu, a former Lagos governor, won the presidential ticket if the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The ministers resigned in accordance with the provisions of section 84(12) of the electoral act.

Abubakar Malami, attorney-general of the federation (AGF) and justice minister; and Pauline Tallen, women affairs minister; who both had governorship and senatorial ambitions respectively, later withdrew their resignations.

Uche Ogah resigned as minister of state for mines and steel development to pursue Abia governorship.

The upper legislative chamber will screen the nominees in the “committee of the whole” on a date yet to be announced.

Alamu Tosin

The writer is Alamu Tosin. I have three strong passions in life — football, blogging and movies — in that order. I love spending time with friends talking about the important things in life and hate nothing more than ‘authority’ and hypocrisy. My personal believe in life is that once an individual sets his/her mind to achieve something, it is totally possible. And oh!, I am a strong Lannister, because I always pay my debt. For writing or fixing gigs, contact [email protected]

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It