Politics News Today

Former Senate President, David Mark Picks PDP Presidential Forms, Vows To Fix Nigeria Within Two Years

David Mark, former Senate President, has formally obtained his nomination and expression of Interest forms, with a vow to fix the myriads of problems facing the country in two years.

He disclosed this Tuesday in Abuja at the national headquarters of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Mark said that the level of distrust in the country is alarming and there is need to bring Nigerians together to foster national unity.

“I have come to collect the forms for presidential nomination. You can comfortably say that PDP is the choice; it is the choice party in the country. Obviously, anybody who has come here to collect the form has a blueprint and I, along with very young boys and girls or men and women, have a blueprint,” he said.

“The blueprint, which we titled ‘730’, represents just two years — two years if given the opportunity to turn the economy of this country round. We will solve the insecurity problems, we will bring Nigerians together. The level of distrust in the country today has never been experienced in the history of this country.

“I have a very good background and I have been in politics since 1998 when I won my election into the Senate. I think I have the credentials and background to be able to do what I promise my team will do. It is a team that is going to work together to salvage this country to bring Nigeria to where it has been respected.

“Obviously, there are priority areas and restructuring is one of them; and I think the time has come for us to restructure this country so that Nigerians will feel that they are part and parcel and integral part of this country.”

Mark is the only Christian among the 12 aspirants who have declared their intention to contest for the exalted office of President under the PDP platform.

The party has already scheduled its presidential primary poll for early next month.

Other aspirants for the PDP ticket are: former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar; former Jigawa State Governor, Alhaji Sule Lamido; former Kano State Governor, Rabiu Kwankwaso; former Minister of Special Duties, Tanimu Turaki; Gombe State Governor, Ibrahim Dankwambo; former Kano State Governor and Minister of Education, Ibrahim Shekarau; former interim PDP Chairman, Senator Ahmed Makarfi; former Sokoto State Governor, Attahiru Bafarawa, Datti Baba Ahmed and former Plateau State Governor, Senator Jonah Jang.

Suggested Read:  Alex Otti Declares Winner of Abia Governorship Election
Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button