#FCTDecides2022: Final results from Abuja’s six Area Councils emerged

The local elections held in the six Area Councils of Abuja were concluded Sunday evening.

The Area Councils are Abaji, Bwari, Gwagwalada, Kuje, Kwali and Abuja Municipal (AMAC).

The election will lead to the emergence of six chairpersons – one for each area council – and 62 councillors.

Over 400 candidates and their running mates contested for these positions on the platforms of the 14 parties.

The results from the 62 wards in the Nigerian capital have now been collated and the final results announced, by INEC, for each of the six chairmanship positions.

See the final results below.

PDP floors APC to win Kuje chairmanship election in Abuja

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Suleman Sabo of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) the winner of the February 12 Kuje Area Council chairmanship election in the Federal Capital Territory.

Mr Sabo, the council’s incumbent chairman who will now serve his second term in office, defeated the other five candidates in each of the 10 wards in the area council.

He gathered a total of 13,301 votes to defeat his closest rival, Sarki Hamidu of the All Progressive Congress (APC), who secured 7,694 votes to emerge second.

By this, the PDP candidate defeated the APC with a total margin of 5,607 votes.

Sule Magaji, the INEC Returning Officer for the Kuje Area Council election, announced the final results on Sunday morning.

Results of wards officially announced:

Kuje Central (ward 01)

APC- 1717


Chibiri ( ward 02)

APC- 1,172


Gaube (ward 03)

APC – 1793

PDP -2,226

Kwaku ( ward 04)

APC :562

PDP :1450

Kabi (ward 05)

APC- 271


Rubochi (ward 06)

APC – 1047

PDP – 1506

Gwargwada (ward 07)

APC- 365


Gudrun Karya ( ward 08)

APC -420

PDP -1032

Kujekwa (ward 09)



Yenche ( ward 10)



APC wins Gwagwalada

The candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Jubrin Abubakar, has been declared as the Chairman-elect of Gwagwalada Area Council at the Saturday Council elections.

Mr Abubakar, a former chairman of the council, defeated his opponent, Mohammed Kassim of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Mr Abubakar polled 11,125 votes and was declared by the INEC Returning Officer, ID Umar as the winner of the keenly contested election.

Mr Kassim of the PDP polled 9,597 votes.

More details to follow…

Chairman (Gwagwalada) Total

Total Valid Votes 21,037

Rejected Votes 739

Total Votes Cast 21,776

AAC 22

ADC 81

APC 11,125

APGA 106

APM 37

Labour 40

PDP 9,597

PRP 26


Share News with us via WhatsApp: or Email: [email protected]

📡 Join Our Social Media Channels:

Show More
Back to top button