Coach names final Super Falcons squad for 2018 Women AFCON

Super Falcons ’ head coach Thomas Dennerby has released a list of 21 players who will fly Nigeria ’ s flag at the 11th Women’ s Africa Cup of Nations finals in Ghana.

Ademola Olajire, the Director of Communications , Nigeria Football Federation , in a statement on Wednesday in Abuja , said the list comprised three goalkeepers, seven defenders , four midfielder and seven strikers.

“ The eight -time champions are presently at Sol Beni in Abidjan, which is the Academy of 1998 African champions ASEC Mimosas FC , for an eight-day final camping programme .

“ They will depart for Ghana on Wednesday, November 14, ’’ he said .

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that Nigeria will be based in Group B at Cape Coast.

They take on South Africa on November 18, before matches against Zambia and Kenya .

Hosts Ghana, Algeria, Mali and Cameroon will battle things out in Group A in Accra .

NAN reports that the competition starts on November 17.

The full list of the players:

Goalkeepers : Tochukwu Oluehi ( Rivers Angels ); Christy Ohiaeriaku ( Confluence Queens); Chiamaka Nnadozie ( Rivers Angels )

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna ( Ibom Angels ); Sarah Nnodim ( Nasarawa Amazons ); Ngozi Ebere ( Barcelona FC , Cyprus )
Faith Michael ( Pitea IF , Sweden); Onome Ebi ( Henan Huisanhang, China ); Osinachi Ohale ( Vaxjo DFF, Sweden); Josephine Chukwunonye ( Asarum AIF , Sweden)

Midfielders: Amarachi Okoronkwo ( Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Okobi ( Eskiltuna UTD , Sweden); Rita Chikwelu ( Krstianstand DFF , Sweden); Halimat Ayinde ( Asarum AIF , Sweden)

Forwards: Anam Imo ( Nasarawa Amazons); Rasheedat Ajibade ( FC Robo Queens); Asisat Oshoala ( Dalian Quanjian , China)
Francisca Ordega ( Washington Spirit, USA ); Desire Oparanozie ( En Avant Guingamp, France ); Chinaza Uchendu ( SC Braga , Portugal ); Chinwendu Ihezuo ( Biik Kazygurt , Kazakhstan ) .

(NAN )

Back to top button